top of page

Canadian Senate Rejects Armenian Motion

Updated: Mar 19, 2022

Canadian Senate on Thursday defeated a motion recognising the Armenian occupied regions of Azerbaijan as an independent state.

Canadian Senator Peter Boehm, speaking against the motion said:

"To start, Canada recognizes the region in question as Nagorno-Karabakh, because it is, under international law, part of Azerbaijan.

Artsakh is the name Armenia and Armenians use for the region, which they see as a reflection of their national identity and statehood. Fair enough.

This dispute over territory is, of course, at the heart of the conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan. On that basis, I will refer to the region for the rest of my remarks as Nagorno-Karabakh to be consistent with Canada’s policy and that of all our allies and like-minded partners."

"The motions in the French Parliament and the count by which they passed must be seen for what they are: political statements against Turkey, a staunch ally of Azerbaijan, and shows of support for France’s sizeable Armenian community, rather than actions based on sound foreign policy — what we would call realpolitik."

"Canada cannot survive as a multicultural, diversity-valuing society if national, ethnic or religious groups import their conflicts into Canada.

Diaspora politics is the tinder of a fire that could consume not just those who ignite it, but all of us."

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page